grief support resources

This section is devoted to helping you and your loved ones through the difficult grieving process. If you would like to suggest other resources or links that have been helpful to you - please feel free to email us the information and we will add it to this section.



Is a widely accepted model for how we deal with grief. Swiss psychiatrist Elizabeth Kubler -Ross developed the theory while working with terminally ill patients. She introduced her model in the 1969 book. "On Death and Dying. The Five Stages of Grief."

Since the book was published. "The Stages" theroy has helped many people understand their frrling after the loss of someone close to them.

Of course, everyone experiences grief differentlly so you may feel each of the Stages as they are defined in a 'textbook" way. The important thing is that you recognize that the feelings you may be haveing are nomal.

1. Denial-At first, you may feel numb or as if you are in shock. It's hard to believe that you loved one has actually died and will no longer be a part of your life. You may find yourself thinking that "it cannot possibly be." During the denial stage, many people withdraw and isolate themselves from others.

2. Anger-You may be angry at the person who has died, the situation, your family members, the dotor, or even yourself. Most experts recommend that you recognize your anger for what it is and you allow yourself to work through it.

3.Bargaining - You may try to make a deal with a higher power so that your loved one will not be ill or die. Understandably, you want things to go back to the way they were. Your mind may also be filled with a lot of"only ifs" and what ifs. "Only if one more procedure is done, only if we had done... Going through this stage can help you deal with aftermath of the loss.

4.Depression -You may feel overwhelming sadness and emptiness. It may be hard to go about daily activities. This is a very natural reaction to a loss. While it is not unusual to feel depression after a loss, you may be concerned about these feelings. If you are worried about how you feel, do not hesitate to seek help.

5. Acceptance - after some time you will begin to feel that thingd will be OK. You may never get over missing the person you have lost, but you feel ready to move on.

the real meaning of the five stages of grief

Dr. Kubler-Ross stages have been applied to grief and other forms of personal loss, such as loss of a job or onset of a disbility. In her book. On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss, Dr.Kubler-Ross says:

"The stage have evolved since their introduction, and they have been very misundert=stood over the past decades. They were never meant to help tuck messy emotions into neat packages. They are responses to loss that many people have, but there is not not a typical response to loss, as there is no typical loss. Our grief is as individual as our lives".

She goes on to say of the 5 stages

"They are tools to help us frame and identify what we may be feeling. But they are not stops on some linear timeline in grief. Not everyone goes through all of them or goes in a prescribed order."

key points to remember about the five stages of grief

  • You may not experience each of the Five Stages in a stepwise manner
  • You may find yourself alternating between Stages. For example, an individual may move back and forth between anger, bargaining, and depression.
  • There is no timetable for grief. How long it takes to move thorugh the stages will vary widely from person-to -person.

The Links

The Links

Crisis, Grief and Healing, the first interactive grief website on the internet, offers discussion boards, articles, book suggestions, and advice for men and women working through every aspect of grief. The site’s founder, Tom Golden LCSW, has provided book excerpts and contact information to help those healing from loss.


Willowgreen offers support and information for those dealing with life transition & aging, illness & caregiving, loss & grief, and hope & spirituality.  The site offers advice, products, and inspirational materials.

Grief Support Resources

Grief and Loss

The American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) website contains a Grief & Loss section with grief-related articles and information.

National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization 

The National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization’s website provides a host of information and resources for people facing a life-limiting illness or injury and their caregivers.